Australian cricketers Steve Smith and David Warner are banned from playing for Australia for 12 months after Cricket Australia's ball tampering investigation in South Africa rocked the sports world.

Cricket Australia CEO James Sutherland announced that Warner, Smith and Bancroft are being sent home over the ball-tampering scandal that occurred in the last test.

The scandal broke after Bancroft was caught on camera using tape to roughen the ball in the 3rd Test in Cape Town.

Darren Lehmann will stay as Australia's coach and Tasmanian wicket-keeper Tim Paine will take over as captain.

Matthew Renshaw, Glenn Maxwell and Joe Burns have been named as replacements for Smith, Warner, and Bancroft.

Stay up to date with sports and cards news right here on the Cherry blog.


Leave a comment